Digital Childhood

As a new mom, who works in digital advertising and content, I am concerned what the impact of all this technology has on kids these days.  I see a lot of kids on their parents’ phones, and what used to be the TV to keep them occupied, they now have iPads and iGadgets and all sorts of other toys that, some say, make them develop faster.

Be that as it may, I’m concerned because I loved being a kid. I ran all over the place, played outside a lot (and I mean, A LOT), climbed trees and such.  Of course living in the city that doesn’t really value parks (sadly for Manila), this idyllic childhood will not be part of my bebe’s and the realisation of this makes me sad.  But I am sure that he will have a childhood nonetheless, with stories and legends to sleep, imagination encouraged, couch forts built, if I have anything to do with it! 🙂

This article did put a little bit of dread into my head, how much stimulation via technology is TOO much? Addiction is not anything new, though the addiction to gadgets are.  I’ve read horror stories of mothers killing their children over a video game, or some guy in Seoul who literally died playing a game online.  These are extreme cases of course, but of course, there is always the wonder of how much is too much? What defines that fine line between just having fun, or even being dedicated, to obsession?

Anyway, here is something I read that I brought these thoughts into my head.  It’s long as online articles go, but it does bring up some interesting points. http://www.inhabitots.com/technology-and-kids-startling-statistics-about-addiction-to-iphones-screens-that-every-parent-should-know/

What do YOU think? Leave me a comment or a thought. I’d love to hear from you 🙂

Leave a Reply

