Homemade handwipes :)

This actually is a big help in our home, both for our wallets, our hands, and the bebe’s bum.  I actually got the idea before I got pregnant because I have this whole thing about keeping my hands clean, maybe because getting sick in the heat is annoying.  Then I started looking up how to make them, and found the video from this blog: http://www.earthmamaangelbaby.com/mama-resources/expert-panel/diba-tillery-rn-bsn/making-homemade-baby-wipes

I actually have done my own. I love my organic stuff but to be a little practical about the costs, and I try to buy in bulk, I use Johnson and Johnson products as you can’t really go too far wrong with those.  So here we go 🙂

 

 

photo1

The gear. L-R: paper towels, lite baby oil, body wash, serrated knife top: receptacle for storing Not Pictured: measuring cup and spoons

photo2

Cut in half, and sometimes I also peel off a couple of layers so the roll can fit into my little plastic can 🙂

It gets a little messy, but I find that if I keep moving the roll around while cutting, it gets the best, and straightest cut.

It gets a little messy, but I find that if I keep moving the roll around while cutting, it gets the best, and straightest cut.

Get your measuring cup and spoons ready.

Get your measuring cup and spoons ready.

You will need ONE (1) CUP of water.

You will need ONE (1) CUP of water.

I used this particular body wash just because it is SUCH a hot summer and this helps cool the little one (and his parents!) off. ONE (1) TABLESPOON.

I used this particular body wash just because it is SUCH a hot summer and this helps cool the little one (and his parents!) off. ONE (1) TABLESPOON.

ONE (1) TABLESPOON also of lite oil. I use lite oil because I still want to help the moisture but still not be too heavy in this heat. Mix both into the 1 CUP of water.

ONE (1) TABLESPOON also of lite oil. I use lite oil because I still want to help the moisture but still not be too heavy in this heat. Mix both into the 1 CUP of water.

 Put the towel into the bin, then pour the water ALL AROUND and EVENLY through the towel.


Put the towel into the bin, then pour the water ALL AROUND and EVENLY through the towel.

The extra layers I took off earlier I usually use to clean up spills and mess after the whole process.

The extra layers I took off earlier I usually use to clean up spills and mess after the whole process.

OK! So stick on the lid, and wait about 10-15mins :)

OK! So stick on the lid, and wait about 10-15mins 🙂

 I actually flip it over and let it stand on its head for another 10mins to ensure that the solution goes throughout all the layers of paper, like the video says. And you can take out the middle bit of the roll easily afterwards :)


I actually flip it over and let it stand on its head for another 10mins to ensure that the solution goes throughout all the layers of paper, like the video says. And you can take out the middle bit of the roll easily afterwards 🙂

 

VOILA! Baby and hand wipes that you can use throughout the house for all kinds of things, and clean ups. So far it has worked well for us and the baby seems to like it. Doesn’t smell too bad either 🙂  YAY FOR HOMEMADE! 🙂

And here, a little soundtrack for those who, like me, like having music accompany them when they’re doing chores 😉 This is my hubby’s take on Bob Dylan 🙂 He too has a blog about his music called Nerd Notes.  Check out this tunes here: https://soundcloud.com/bubblebasedboy/25mar14-15-50-all-i-really

Leave a Reply

