Coming back slowly :)

Yes it has been a while. Life caught up with me, and well, I just had to answer.

I’ve now gotten back into the music scene here in Manila; I’m managing a band I used to manage back in 08 (?) til I had formed my own band and I needed to prioritize that. We’re all old friends, so it’s good that I get to hang with them again and I am excited to be part of their journey!

I’ve also started producing little gigs here and there again. Currently in my little excel file, I have *crikey* NINE shows from this month all the way to November4th. Well dang. Here I thought I was being all, “let’s space out the gigs….” But no. I think I went overboard. Ah well. The last prod I had, which was two days ago was a ginormous success so I’m glad to be doing it. Besides, I get to watch the acts I want to watch and hang out with people I like. With beer. Yay! I guess this is my equivalent to mommy time.

Anyway, since I’ve just put my son down to his afternoon nap, I think I have a bit of time to hang out here and catch up with all you lovely folks who are reading this blog.

Ah pasta. I’ve gotten back to freezing my homemade version of pesto (yay for balcony basil!) and I’m starting to get the hang of making tomato sauce from scratch (still trying a few ingredients out), but seeing that you can make pasta in one pan just made my year. Here check out some of the recipes from Buzzfeed: http://www.buzzfeed.com/emofly/one-pot-pastas#47wnusn

The enchilada one looks so super yum!

Because seriously, what meat eater doesn’t like steak? And I love this woman. I followed her blog before all the books and shows and loved her love story with her “cowboy” husband. Then she knows how to cook these lovely hearty comforting dishes. YUM ALL THE WAY J http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2012/07/steak-fingers-with-gravy/

Maybe I shouldn’t comment on this topic, but I (as some have it seems) have noticed that there are a lot of self-entitled people out there. I find this to be true especially in the workplace. I work as an account director in an international advertising company and it astounds me that kids that come in looking for work expect that they should do very little of it. They somehow feel like it is owed to them in some way, to get that pay grade, that bonus, without doing a damn thing. Even the work they are supposed to be doing or are duly part of their job description is scoffed at. Being a new mom, I’m scared shitless that my son would lose this motivation to work because really, though most is hard, there is nothing like that feeling of accomplishment, or earned respect and just that feeling of being productive or having achieved something during the day. There is a confidence that comes with it that I personally have no been able to get anywhere else. So this was an interesting read: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/marcia-kester-doyle-/rude-children-_b_5589057.html?ncid=fcbklnkushpmg00000063

I am a wee bit of a germophobe/OC dork, so I like washing my hands a lot. It’s come to a point that I have had to chill out with the washing as the skin on my fingers are getting cracked and whack (hehe I rhymed!). Anyhoo, for those of you who like to travel like I do, and are a little OC as well, maybe you want to read up on this: http://www.bbc.com/travel/feature/20140701-what-hotels-wont-tell-you?ocid=twtvl

The points are common sense really…. The bathroom stuff just freaks me out.

Lawd but I do want to live in this space: http://www.domainehome.com/gallery-wall/

Love it all. And that gallery wall is still a damn dream of mine. I have the posters and prints to cover several walls. Urg, I need to get around to framing them all.

Another love of mine is for books. I love this site because they talk about books and authors, and things said in those books by those authors. And they talk about the genius of books in general which DUH, is awesome. For those bookphiles out there, here are some little factoids that are a good read: http://bookriot.com/2014/07/26/critical-linking-july-26-2014/

Whatever has been said about him, I like Richard Branson and love the way he took his destiny into his own hands. Here are some quotes from him to help us get through the week: http://www.businessinsider.com/quotes-from-richard-branson-2014-7?op=1&utm_content=buffer77b93&utm_medium=social&utm_source=facebook.com&utm_campaign=buffer#ixzz38tru33IP

Because this has been two of the most trying weeks in my recent history, this list of “13 things to remember when life gets rough”, just about saved my sanity and reminded me I’m not such a bad person after all: http://themindunleashed.org/2014/07/13-things-remember-life-gets-rough.html

And now to the end of this entry. A friend of mine has finally released his album online. I hope you guys give it a listen and download. If you like steady but eclectic electronic music, you will like this: http://dubtemplerecords.bandcamp.com/album/tv-was-my-daddy

Thanks for coming through. I’m planning more entries and I will be trying to post more often. CHEERS!

Leave a Reply

